Tools & Links: Healthcare Assistant 

Care Certificate Standards

The Care Certificate is an induction programme based on 15 standards which link to National Occupational Standards and units in qualifications. This scheme will be delivered to ensure that apprentice HCAs in primary care undertaking this route can demonstrate that they have achieved the introductory skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide passionate, safe high-quality care and support to patients and service users. They will do this by completing all 15 standards (detailed below).

  • Understand your role
  • Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disability
  • Your personal development 
  • Safeguarding adults
  • Duty of care
  • Safeguarding children
  • Equality and diversity
  • Basic life support*
  • Work in a person-centred way
  • Health and safety
  • Communication
  • Handling information
  • Privacy and dignity
  • Infection prevention and control
  • Fluids and nutrition

* Please note that some further education providers are unable to provide basic life support training; where this is the case the training will be provided externally and funded by HEE via ‘Bolt-on’ modules from other education providers.

Additional information on The Care Certificate and how this applies to employers can be obtained from the Skills for Health website.

Click below to find out more about the role: